Just Another Brick in the Wall

Posted: January 10, 2016 in mixed media, Scrapbooking
Tags: , , ,

I’ve recently gotten some feedback that people would like me to include more details on how I achieved certain looks.  A lot of time it’s just trial and error but I’ll try to include some more techniques.

Here’s my latest layout.  The background took me forever.

I started with paper from the DCWV Old world stack that looked like an old stucco wall with alot of green in it.

I used a brick stencil to create the bricks with modeling paste and sprayed tattered angels baseboard collection (red rocks) through it. I made sure I sprayed some in areas that didn’t have paste for added dimension.

Then I  added some Tim Holtz Fossilized amber ink spray here and there and also Heidi Swapp tea colored color shine. I also used a fine spray of water in between the different colors of ink spray.  I find that makes the paint move around a bit so you get different colors.

For the grout I tried using both gesso and thinned crackle paint..  When all of that was dry I sprayed more of the browns to color the grout.

Finally I finished it off with a thick coat of crackle paint to make it look like the wall peeking through. I inked with a little peeled paint Distress ink once the paint was all crackled.

IMG_2133The title was created for my cricut explore machine in Design Space using the font quarter mile for the “garlic” and Captain Howdy for the “BREATH”. I adjusted the letters in garlic until they touched and then welded them.  Then I attached that to breathe and the arrow.

Supply list

  • DCWV Old world stack
  • Crafter’s workshop brick stencil
  • faber castel Gesso
  • Ranger Texture paste
  • DecoArt crackle paste
  • Tim Holtz Distress ink-peeled paint, mahogany,walnut ink, brushed corduroy
  • Tim Holtz distress ink -Fossilized amber
  • Tattered angels baseboard collection – red rocks
  • Heidi shop color shine- tea
  • cricut explore air
Comments
  1. […] Just Another Brick in the Wall […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

