Meet our new baby!

Posted: March 29, 2009 in Uncategorized

A few weeks ago we had to put our 19 year old pup, Atilla to sleep.  He lived a long, wonderful life but we were so sad to let him go.  I swore we were done with dogs.  As much as we loved Atilla, at the end he rarely made it outside and I was looking forward to a nice clean house.  No more cleaning up accidents, no more doggy drool on the toilet, no more hairballs.  Then one day it hit me like a ton of bricks, I wanted a puppy.  Forget that we may have to move back to California for Neil’s job, forget the crappy economy, forget my nice clean house, I needed a little ball of puppy scented love.  Well, oddly enough Neil was completely against it.  I’m not going to lie, that probably made me want it more.  After my sobbing “when do I ever insist on anything” speech he sort of gave in.  I fell in love with a Puggle at the pet store.  Well, instead of the Puggle we wandered over to the nimal rescue at PetSmart and came home with a 20 pound mutt of a dog.  Officially, he’s a lab, cattle dog mix.  He started out named Max but after much family discussion (ie arguing) we settled on Dante.  So here he is…….He’s an amazing dog……crate trained, housebroken, he walks without pulling and doesn’t run away. He’s the jackpot of puppies.  A full grown dog in a large puppy body.  He does chew a little but he’s easily redirectable.  The cats are pissed but all in all he’s settling in nicely.

Comments
  1. JulieP says:

    He sounds like a wonderful dog. But what’s this about you might be moving back to CA? Say it isn’t so!!!!! Email me!

    Like

  2. pam says:

    Aww so cute!!

    Like

  3. Sarah C. says:

    What a cutie! He and your kids look so happy. 🙂

    Like

  4. Doreen says:

    Awwww, what a cutie!

    Like

Leave a comment