Workout woes

Posted: November 14, 2008 in everyday life
Tags: ,

I am so frustrated with my body, specifically  my feet.  I am committed to making the changes I need to get healthier but my body just doesn’t want to do it.  Some of you know that I have been struggling with plantar fascitis (bone spurs) in both feet for years.  A few years ago I opted for surgery.  It was a dismal failure.  I went from having my feet hurt alot of the time to having pain most of the time.  The worst thing is that I can’t do what I love.  Working out is hard enough without having some of your favorite work out options (for me it’s step aerobics and running) taken away. I grit my teeth through the pain but it’s hard when I have to drag my ass all over campus with my feet protesting the whole time.  I know I can swim or do other non impact stuff but those are not options I enjoy which makes it alot harder to find the motivation. I hate to be a whiner but it’s just not fair!

Comments
  1. Sherrie says:

    Hi!
    My sister had the surgery for bone spurs a few years ago. It didn’t work for her either. Thanks for stopping my place. Take Care!!

    Sherrie

    Like

  2. Cori says:

    That’s exactly how I feel, but for me it’s my knees that won’t cooperate!

    Like

  3. Linda says:

    I understand. I don’t like to work out unless it is something I enjoy doing. I hope you can find something that will be easier for you to do.

    Like

  4. Suz Gray says:

    Hi Lily,

    I can so relate… Having rheumatoid arthritis has caused me to have problems too. It’s hard enough to work up the courage to have surgery & you have faith it will work & things will be fixed… then to have more problems than where you started is difficult to handle.

    For most of us exercise isn’t something we love to do anyway so to be motivated it has to be something we like to stay on task. Keep trying new things & try to get someone to do it with you. Mostly I’ve found I just have to keep forcing myself for about a month with anything new & sometimes I find it grows on me!

    Like

Leave a Reply

