Are these words appropriate???

Posted: October 30, 2008 in everyday life, Uncategorized
Tags:

Please read the following list and try to guess which grade they are appropriate for:

pattern

animal

family

above

happen

rabbit

stand

plant

mantle

candle

alphabet

alligator

OK, have you guessed?  They are my first graders first set of spelling words.  The kid is just learning how to read.  Do you think these words are appropriate?  My daughter had the same teacher in first grade and we had a year filled with tears and frustration.  I complained but all I kept hearing is that this teacher’s kids always end up ahead by the end of the year.  I get that, but at what cost?  The thing is, my son loves school and never complains about  homework but I have a feeling that he won’t after this year.  We have been working on those words every day this week for several hours.  That’s on top of the daily hours worth of worksheets.  He still isn’t getting them. I’m frustrated, he’s frustrated.  What’s the point?  Does a 6 year old really need to know how to spell alligator?

Comments
  1. Melina says:

    what! first grade for mensa kids

    Like

  2. Kimberkv says:

    And it just keeps getting worse. They want our kids to learn more sooner, with less effort on the teachers part. They don’t even collect homework at my son’s school. They just walk by and if you have somehting written on the paper you get a check mark. Then when the tests come and kids don’t pass, they wonder why!!!

    Like

  3. JulieP says:

    Hmmm….those are way harder than my dd’s and she’s in the “good teacher’s class” too. Our school groups the spelling words by sounds….like goat, load, bowl, own, etc. It’s still easy for them to get tripped up but at least it makes sense. Good luck Tyler.

    Like

  4. Heather says:

    I feel your pain, my daughter is struggling with lots of her school work as well.

    Like

  5. Sarah C. says:

    They seem a bit above and beyond that age group to me. I would have expected more 3 and 4 letter words. Good luck to you both.

    Like

  6. My 3rd grader would have struggles with those words. My son is in first grade and I can’t imagine him coming home with those. He can barely read, much less spell big words.

    Your poor little guy. 😦

    Like

  7. Linda says:

    I would have said 3rd grade. I don’t even think those are on the Dolch sight word list for first grade. Good luck.

    Like

  8. Pam says:

    Those words are more difficult than Lukas’ 5th grade words! I am very much against too much homework. No more than 10 minutes per grade per night. I would protest if it’s much more than that. Giving too much homework is disrespectful of a child’s free time and family time.

    Like

  9. Doreen says:

    I think as long as a 6 yr old living in Florida knows WHAT an alligator is and to stay away from them, they’re right on target! =)

    Like

  10. Carol says:

    Hey Lilly,
    Long time no talk to. Stopped by to say hi, love all your pictures. Okay but I had to comment. I share your frustration, up until this year when the curiculum changed dd was doing these kind of spelling words. I really think that if they are words that they aren’t using in everyday life they won’t remember how to spell them. My daughter had words a couple times in 3rd grad I had to look them up to know what they were, or how to explain them on a 8 year old level. Really like Entrapenuer (i still can’t spell that stupid word). Crazy. I think it’s just getting crazy out of control. My friends 6 year old has to learn all the states, the state flower, capital, rivers, and industry. Really I mean come on.

    Sorry I’ll get off my soapbox and stop venting. Talk to you later.
    Carol

    Like

Leave a Reply

