Having it all?!?

Posted: October 28, 2008 in everyday life
Tags: , , ,

My wonderful, irreverent buddy Anna recently asked me how I manage to do all the things I do. To me, it doesn’t seem like I do that much. Women who work full time and have families work harder than I do and have much less free time. I only work a few days a week so that frees me up to be able to go back to school full time. My kids are in school all day so I have that time to do housework and homework. Luckily I have a great hubby who helps out if I ask. The problem is that I’m not great at asking but I’m getting there. I’m usually home in time to help them with homework and spend quality time. I get to school super early to get a good parking spot so that gives me lots of time to blog and hang out on facebook. It is hard to find the time or initiative for hobbies like sbing and jewelry making but I’m ok with that. I do have lots of roles but i think that makes me a better person. It  does sounds like alot when I list it out:
mother
student
artist
scrapbooker
blogger
jewelry maker
sb store employee
housewife
wife

Do I have it all? To me having it all means finding the balance between doing the things you love and doing the things you have to do. By this definition, I do have it all. I don’t do it all well but I do it my own way. most of the self help books will tell you to stay organized and stay on top of things. My system is a little more haphazard. I do things when I can, I wait until the list minute and then scramble to get it done. I think my only saving grace is that I have prioritized my list. The things at the top HAVE to get done, no questions. Right now family and school are at the top of the list. Sometimes that means I don’t get to scrap and the house isn’t as clean as I like. I get one day a week completely to myself and I usually use that to do the things I need to do. Once the house is cleanish and homework is done then I can scrap. I’m ok with that. I sometimes miss the days of having the freedom to scrap every night. Luckily my school work fills that creative need.

A more organized woman would do her homework while the kids are doing theirs, but that’s so not me. I can’t help them and focus on my own stuff so I end up spending lots of late nights working on logos or school projects. It works for me. So I guess my answer to Anna is that I just do it. I try not to think about it too much. If I thought too far ahead or tried to plan I’d probably stress myself out and get nothing done.

Comments
  1. JulieP says:

    It’s totally a juggling act. Sometimes we catch all of the balls, sometimes we don’t. What’s important is that we make the time for the truly important things. So what if it’s haphazard and last minute? Sometimes you can plan ahead…other days it’s ‘one day at a time.’ You’re doing awesome!

    Like

  2. Janet says:

    Great post, Lily. “Having it all” really is a subjective term. I read a book (now out of print) once which talked about having it all, but not having it all at the same time. That’s me. I can’t do everything at once like some people can. Sounds like you’re doing a great job of keeping it all together.

    Like

  3. Linda says:

    I am still working on finding balance and getting everything done that needs to be done. I think I am getting better. I like your attitude, it is pretty much how things get done around here too.

    Like

  4. pam says:

    Love the picture!! Great attitude about life!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

