The Great turtle Rescue

Posted: October 27, 2008 in everyday life
Tags:

Yesterday we were all just kind of doing our own sunday morning thing when madison starts screeching :there’s a turtle in the pool”. Being the suburban victims that we are, any sign of wild life is a big event so we all rushed out to see. Of course, I snagged my camera on the way out. Yes, there was a turtle in the pool. I was concerned that we might find a half rotted carcass but I was happy to see that he was blissfully swimming in the chlorine infested waters. My intrepid husband dug the turtle out with the pool skimmer and we all oohed and ahhed at it’s cuteness. Tyler wanted to hold it, until it dug it’s claws into his hand. He promptly dropped poor Mr. Turtle on his head. Apparently suburban turtles are a pretty hardy breed because no real harm was done. After much debate (release vs keep as a pet) the adults won out and the family trekked out to the local retention pond for our own animal release program. I’m happy to report that we got Mr. Turtle off without a hitch. That’s if you don’t consider the eagle I saw eyeing us from his perch on a lamppost……..

Here are some pics of the daring rescue. Unfortunately my camera batter died before I could get any more

Comments
  1. JulieP says:

    LOL at the suburban references. We live in town too but do have our share of wildlife.

    Like

  2. laura says:

    soon you’ll be known as the turtle whisperer in the cul-de-sac! (I’ll spread the word LOL)

    Like

  3. Sarah C. says:

    Hurray for the rescue! What a cute little guy. 🙂

    Like

  4. Linda says:

    Very cute. My dh found a baby box turtle in the yard and the kids wanted to keep it but I am a mean mom and said I wasn’t going to take care of it.

    Like

  5. Kimberkv says:

    Well, at least you didn’t risk lif and limb trying to rescue him from the middle of the road. Then to look in you rearview mirror to see him headed back accross!! Stupid turtle. Good job!!

    Like

  6. Heather says:

    It’s always nice to read about a successful animal rescue! And I would have voted for a release rather than a new pet too! Glad to hear the adults won!

    Like

  7. Noelia says:

    What a cute turtle! I would’ve also wanted to keep it since as a kid I used to have lots of turtles!

    Like

  8. pam says:

    We rescued a turtle from the highway about 4 years ago and Dodger lives happily in our backyard, well sometimes he sneeks in the house. Great little bug eater to have around!

    Like

  9. Janet says:

    Wow! That was a bit of excitement! Wonder how he managed to get into the pool?

    Like

Leave a Reply

