I voted today

Posted: October 21, 2008 in everyday life
Tags: ,

Did you?  Early voting makes it easy.  Although make sure you time it right.  A friend of mine went earlier in the day and waited 3 hrs.  I went around 4:00 and was done by 4:30.  No matter how long you have to wait, don’t forget it’s your civic duty.  It’s also your chance to be a part of history.  Not just because there’s a black man and a woman on the ballot.  I think this election is going to go down in history as the biggest turnout for a vote.  Allowing everyone to vote early almost ensures a huge turnout.  There’s no longer that “I don’t have time to vote” excuse.

There’s nothing like that feeling that you’ve made a difference.  I understand the whole electoral college thing and I understand  that my one little vote doesn’t really make a difference.  Even though I’ve known who I was going to vote for for a long time, I still hesitated a little before bubbling in that oval.  I got that momentary feeling of am I making the right choice?  I just love that!

Comments
  1. Linda says:

    Good for you! We don’t have early voting here. I just got the sample ballet in the mail today so I need to look it over so I am not spending an hour in the booth.

    Like

  2. Karen says:

    I plan to do it this week sometime here too… have to study up in the “other” stuff that’s on the ballot before i schlep off to vote.

    Like

  3. pam says:

    voting is on my list tomorrow!

    Like

  4. Doreen says:

    Good for you for voting already. We just got our new cards in the mail yesterday, so we’ll be doing it soon.
    Not trying to go all political on you, but I have to disagree. Not everyone should vote, only informed people. These people? Should not vote. http://www.bpmdeejays.com/upload/hs_sal_in_Harlem_100108.mp3

    Like

  5. Doreen says:

    Sorry, I hit enter and it submitted before I was done typing. I meant to add, it doesn’t matter who you’re “for”, at least know what they stand for and at least their running mate! LOL!

    Like

  6. Kimberkv says:

    Voting is certainly important. Glad you got out there and voted. I don’t know if we have early voting or not.

    Like

  7. Melissa says:

    I’m looking forward to voting this year, for the first time ever. I’m hoping that the person I vote for actually wins because that hasn’t happened in the past 8 years! LOL!

    Like

  8. Sasha says:

    Congrats … we are ALL going on Friday ..

    Like

  9. Pam says:

    I voted on Tuesday with a woman who voted for the first time because she just became an American citizen. It was exciting.

    Like

  10. Janet says:

    I voted a couple of weeks ago by absentee ballot. It was kind of fun b/c my DD had never seen an absentee ballot so we looked it over together. I too had the sense of being part of something historic!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

