More debate talk

Posted: October 16, 2008 in everyday life
Tags: , ,

Ok, I know I said I wasn’t going to get political on this blog but there’s some things I just have to say. As a disclaimer I have to admit that I fell asleep about 2/3 of the way into the debate. OK, is John McCain cracking up? He looked well, I’m just going to say it….all crazy eyed. WTF…..I think this campaign is really taking a toll on his health. He also sounded like a petulant child several times during the debate. It didn’t help that Obama was so self assured and controlled. I mean, seriously, at this point in the election it’s time to let go of all the finger pointing and really sell their programs. We know you disagree, don’t tell me why the other guys programs suck, just tell me why yours will work.

I loved the references to Joe the plumber…can anyone say sound bites? Urban dictionary tried to address the nebulous plumber with this entry.

October 16: Joe the Plumber
1: a fictional person representing the whole of the people; mostly the lower to middle class.

2: a political strategy where one side asks the other what he would do for the above mentioned.
1) man1: did you hear what’s happening to Joe the Plumber?
man2: yea, they’re increasing his taxes.

2) man1: so if you became president, what would you do for Joe the Plumber?
man2: well, i would give him a big taxbreak.
comment on this definition

Apparently Joe really is a real guy. They showed some footage of Obama talking to him after the election. (I woke up at this point and dragged my ass from the recliner to my bed).

On a little aside, I was reading Cynthia’s blog, I am a Coconut, this morning and she mentioned photo booth. I forgot about that little feature of my new mac. Now you can all see exactly when I look like while I wax poetic on my blog. It’s never pretty!

Comments
  1. Sarah C. says:

    I couldn’t bring myself to watch the debate. I’m so tired of the “your ideas are bad b/c” and finger pointing. Tell me what you “will” do. Argh. Anyhow, my DH did replay part of it for me to show me how “funny” McCain was looking. 😀

    LOL at the photo. That’s me most mornings getting to work! 😉 Hope you have a great day. Oh, and you’ve been tagged! HERE

    Like

  2. Marv says:

    Here’s a topic that won’t be covered by the press anytime soon, but has some interesting points:
    http://www.artsology.com/obama_mccain.php

    Like

  3. Linda says:

    I feel asleep towards the end. I am still undecided and I wish I could just get some straight talk instead of the petty bickering.

    Like

  4. Carol says:

    I listened, but heard the same old stuff. Honestly was more into taking pictures for my photo challenge. My 9 year old wanted to know though why America keeps buying so much pork, and what do they do with it all. LOL

    Carol

    Like

  5. Sue C. says:

    I was at the apple store today and learned about photobooth. I gotta try that tomorrow. How fun! I tried it out at the store and UGH I looked terrible. Of course it was the harsh lighting!!!
    I didn’t watch the debate. I just couldn’t bring myself to do it and plus I Tivo’d Project Runway and watched that!

    Like

  6. Thomisia says:

    Love the photo, lmbo.

    Like

  7. Anna M-W says:

    You look hot in that picture! You are turning me on…

    I couldn’t bring myself to watch one more debate. I am pretty on top of current events and politics but I just couldn’t take it anymore.

    Like

  8. JulieP says:

    You should make that your new POM avatar. LOL!

    Like

  9. pam says:

    I watched the debate, and agree with you McCain seemed to have a problem and as my dh says Obama is teflon, nothing sticks to him, he is so slick. Either way I am glad it is over.

    Like

  10. Noelia says:

    I was curious about the debate but I never got to watch it. I guess I didn’t miss much. We already had our elections here in Canada so we can finally move on….

    P.S Don’t you love photobooth? 🙂

    Like

  11. Melissa says:

    I watched and I agree.

    “Those were vouchers, Senator Obama. Those were vouchers.”

    McCain, at times, can sound very condescending and it irritates me. I like Romney a lot better, and that doesn’t say much. 😛

    Great photo! That’s about how I looked on Friday last week!

    Like

Leave a Reply

