Salsa and a layout

Posted: October 8, 2008 in everyday life, Scrapbooking
Tags: , , ,

 

The produce lady came by work today with some huge tomatos and beautiful peppers.  What do you do when the world gives you tomatos and peppers? Make salsa of course.  I absolutely hate store bought salsa.  It just tastes so artificial.  Now homemade, that’s another story!  This is what I am going to sit down to tonight while I’m watching trash tv.

Ingredients

tomatos

green peppers

red onions

garlic

jalapenos

cilantro

red wine vinegar

lime juice

Just chop everything and throw it in a bowl.  Let chill a few hours to meld the flavors and dig in!

I found a few minutes to scrap today.  This is what I came up with.  I just started with the Chatterbox paper, Fancy Pants stamps and DCWV and American Crafts rubons and went from there.  

Supplies

PP- chatterbox

Stamps- Fancy Pants

               Autumn Leaves

 

rubons- american Crafts

              DCWV

Bling- Doodlebug

Pen- Prismacolor

 

Another little bit of randomness.  Please don’t bring your 2 year old to a bead shop and expect her to sit still while you spend hours creating.  and if by some insane lapse of reason you do bring her.  Please don’t let her scream for 45 minutes while you blissfully work away.  Also don’t try to entertain her by letting her mix up all the pretty crystals.  They take hours to sort.  Now before I get hate, I do think mom’s need some me time, I’m a mom myself and I know how stressful a two year old can be.   Get a babysitter.  Other people need to relax also.

Comments
  1. Deb Wisker says:

    Thanks for the salsa recipe, but i gotta leave out the jalepenos! Nice LO too! Love the blue-my fav color!

    Like

  2. JulieP says:

    save some of that for me!!! yum!!!! lovin’ M’s pigtails too.

    Like

  3. pam says:

    Now I want some salsa and chips, love the homemade stuff!!
    Great layout!

    Like

  4. Sarah says:

    Yummy! that salsa looks really good! and thank you for your sweet comments on my blog!

    Like

  5. Janet says:

    Lily, I am SO behind in my blog reading! I am sorry I haven’t had a chance to stop by in awhile. It has been nuts around here…
    The salsa looks fabulous! My DH has a similar recipe (it’s the only thing he “cooks”) except for the vinegar.
    Love the lO! So pretty with all the flowers.

    And I meant to tag you on the 6 Secrets post for today on my blog!! 🙂 Thx for stopping by!

    Like

  6. Noelia says:

    I love homemade salsa too and yours looks divine. I put mine in pretty much anything. This summer whenever we BBQ’d we used to top of grilled meat with it and it was delicious…
    Your page looks great, love the embellishments you used and the calming colours.

    Like

  7. Melissa says:

    I agree! Leave the two year old at home when you’re trying to do anything creative outside of the house! How much would that suck to have to bare witness to it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

