Ladder overload

Posted: September 19, 2008 in Uncategorized

Today in drawing class we drew a ladder, and then another ladder and then another ladder.  It’s not as pointless as it sounds.  The idea was to really teach us to look at items.  first we drew the negative space, then the positive space and then put them together with shading.  Here’s what they look like

Believe it or not, I actually was starting to enjoy this project.  And if it ever comes up in a job interview, I can always say that I can draw the shit out of a ladder.  You never know when that might come in handy.  At this point I was feeling pretty confident.  Of course, anyone who read my missing homework post knows what happens to me when I get a little cocky…Oh yeah, the moms-who go-back-to-school-Gods find a way to knock me on my wideish ass.  this one came in the form of negative drawing.  What this means is that you cover a white piece of paper completely with a thick layer of black charcoal…….covering yourself and anyone within a 3 mile radius in black chal dust in the process.  then you draw the picture with an eraser.  sounds kind of fun, right???? Well, not so much.  You really have to scrub to get the black off and every time the eraser touches the paper you need to clean it on sandpaper.  Have I ever metioned how exhausting drawing class is?  To make it even worse, we aren’t drawing something easy like ladders  Oh no, we’ve graduated to horse skulls.  Oh yes, bloggers, you read correctly, we are drawing a horse skull….ala Georgia O’Keefe.  Let me tell you, mine looks nothing like a uterus.  In fact, it looks nothing like a horse skull.  Granted, I haven’t gotten very far but it’s not looking good.  Here’s my humble beginning

Comments
  1. jill says:

    funny post. i can see a horse skull…kind of 🙂

    Like

  2. melina says:

    beautiful drawings

    Like

  3. deb wisker says:

    I can see the horse skull but that’s because I have an upper hand-I’m a horse owner!LOL! But if it’s any consolation, it really doesn’t look like a lopsided uterus…it looks like a malformed heart-another upper hand-I’m an OR nurse!!

    Your ladder sketch came out really cool! 1,000 times better than I could ever draw!

    Like

  4. Melanie says:

    Wow! I think you’re doing great, Lily!

    Like

  5. Sarah C. says:

    This takes me back in time. I have dozens of variations of can opener drawings. 😀

    Like

  6. lol… nothing like a uterus? Well that’s a good thing, right, since it’s a skull?

    Your drawings look great! I can’t wait to see the skull finished!

    Like

  7. Janet says:

    I think your drawings are great! When I was younger I took a drawing class and we had to draw a skull. I don’t know if it was a horse or cow but I do remember spending hours on it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

