Just when I thought I had it all together….

Posted: September 18, 2008 in campus life
Tags:

something happens to show me just how precariously balanced I really am.  So I had two big projects due today.  I finished them ahead of time and took last night to make sure all the files were saved on my flash drive and that my design project was safely tucked away in my portfolio.  By now I was feeling pretty full of myself.   I blithely drove to class this morning, confident that all my academic ducks were in a row.  things started to look ugly when I pulled out my iPod.  I distinctly remembered putting it and my flash drive in the same pocket in my backpack.  Hmmmm, no flash drive.  No worries, it probably slipped into another pocket, right?  wrong!  I tore up my backpack hunting for it.  Then it came to my in a flash of sickening dread, my backpack fell off the table this morning.  Apparently my flash drive must have fallen out because a quick call to Neil verified that it was sitting on the floor in the dining room.  Sort of good news because I still had plenty of time for Neil to drive it to me.  Problem solved.  I turned in the assignment without any further problems. Of course, I had to suck up all Neil’s sarcastic comments about my lack or organization.  Whatever, I’m a big enough person to admit that I owe him, big time.

 After class I had a leisurely lunch with some friends, confident that the two 20″ X 24″ project boards for my design class were tucked neatly in the portfolio at my feet.  You can see where I’m going with this right?  I got to class and went to pull out my project…whoops, I grabbed the wrong portfolio.  This one had my drawing homework in it.  Which would have been just fine except I was sitting in design class!  After lots of cussing and self recriminations I grabbed my keys and ran out to my car…….booked it the 20 minutes home , listened to some more snide comments from Neil which, by the way, weren’t all that helpful, grabbed the correct portfolio  and then sped back to class, only a half hour late.   Now, mind you, I probably pissed off 18 people with my reckless need for speed and almost ran over the neighbor’s dog  in my haste.  Of course, I rushed for no reason because the professor decided to start class an hour late to give everyone a chance to put the finishing touches on their projects.  It all worked out in the end but I’m not going to lie, I was exhausted from all the running around! Be assured next time I will double check everything before I leave the house.  Note to the Gods in charge of moms returning to school…I get it, I’m not nearly as together as I thought I was.  No need to punish me for cockiness anymore.  I am officially humbled.

Comments
  1. JulieP says:

    Wow…I’m exhausted too. I’m just so glad it worked out for you. Good reminder to all, not just those back in school.

    Like

  2. Sarah C. says:

    Oh, that so sounds like something that would happen to me. And I still get those moments of panic before an important client presentation or permitting review. Glad it all came together for you! Hope you got excellent grades on both projects. 🙂

    Like

  3. pam says:

    I am so glad it all turned out for you!

    Like

  4. Janet says:

    Oh, gosh, I know how something like that would put me into a complete tizzy! And I’ve done it before, in spite of my best efforts to be organized! Glad it worked out!

    Like

  5. Karen says:

    I too am glad it all worked out!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

