Drawing is hard work

Posted: September 12, 2008 in artwork, campus life, olympics
Tags: , , ,

I had my second drawing I class today.  We fisnished up our still lifes from last week.  Adding shading and shadows.  I’m alot happier with mine now.  Here’s the before and after.  Still not great, but not bad for a first try.

Before

After

Our next project was all about negative space and persective.  We had to draw just the negative space of a ladder and some stools.  I spent most of the time on the ladder so I ended up rushing the stools.  It definitely shows.  I reall liked this assignment….not shading!

Some took a more literal approach to the negative space and darkened out the negative images.  Here’s Janae, intensely shading hers.  doesn’t she have nice hair?

Now to the whining part ofProxy-Connection: keep-alive
Cache-Control: max-age=0

he class.  The class is 6 hours long and, I’m not going to lie, I am totally exhausted.  My whole body feels like I’ve been hit by a mack truck.  Between standing for a good majority of the class, holding my arm up, carrying a ton of art supplies and sitting on the torture devises they call stools, I may never have to go to the gym again.  I am going to have triceps of steel!

Comments
  1. Jen says:

    WOW! That is amazing! I have no drawing talent so I am so envious of those who do.
    I love it – great work!

    Like

  2. Wow! Very awesome drawing!

    Like

  3. these drawing are great – well done

    Like

  4. Janae' says:

    hahahaha i look so intense!

    your before and after pictures are great! see, you really did get the hang of the shading on the legs (and everything else for that matter)! 😀 mine actually started to look worse as we kept working on it….yikes!

    oh and PS, i’ve written the “whining” portion about the class in my livejournal every day we’ve had class hahahaha stupid stools!

    Like

  5. Noelia says:

    Your drawings are amazing! Good for you for taking those classes! For how long are you planning on taking them? I can’t imagine drawing for 6 hours it seems like quite the workout.

    Like

  6. Emily says:

    Nice job…I remember studio classes in college….always early in the a.m. and looong! Sounds like you are enjoying them though! They are kind of like a good workout…you feel all achy after and exhausted but accomplished 🙂

    Like

  7. melina says:

    I tell my kids. no one said art is easy! who ever said that didn’t have art! Excellent drawing skills girl, you are really showing that you can draw. ( i teach art)

    Like

  8. Janet says:

    Your drawing looks beautiful! Kudos to you for getting out there and doing something like this! A 6 hour class sounds crazy, though. That would be exhausting for sure.

    Like

Leave a Reply

