Tales of a really bad mommy

Posted: September 11, 2008 in everyday life
   
 
I had to ground Tyler yesterday. He lost his homework folder once already and the teacher replaced it. Today he didn’t have it and he swore the teacher didn’t give it to him. I emailed her and she said she had no idea where it was and that she wasn’t giving him another one. I asked her to have him check the lost and found because he would be grounded until he found it since it was his second time losing it. Well, he sat in his room screaming for 2 hours, “it’s not my fault”. He was really, really upset.  He’s usually pretty stoic when he gets punished.  Should have been a clue to me that something was off.  Turns out it really wasn’t his fault. I go this email from his teacher.

Hi Mrs. Goldsmith,
As I was leaving I checked for Tyler’s folder and they are both at
school. Today being early day and trying to get out on time, he
forgot to get his folder before he left. I knew his daily folder was
still at school but not the hw folder. His Hw folder is in his
cubbie and his daily folder is in the daily folder holder. He really
didn’t do anything wrong because he turned in his hw folder early. He
has to be reminded to turn it in on Friday It would be best if he
leaves the hw folder at home in a safe place and only bring it to
school on Friday when it is actually due. Each day he brings his
folder to school he turns it in. Sometimes I catch it and have him
put it back in his folder but some times I don’t as you can see. He
is a true charmer and over achiever. You were right! He has stolen
my heart. He is soooo sweeeeettttt! He says,” Yes Ms Ryan” or I
love your hair Ms Ryan or something so adorable. I love him! Both
his folders are at school. So, there is no need to ground him

To add insult to injury, I just found his original folder. I had tucked it away in a pile. I feel so awful, I just keep hearing him screaming,”it’s not my fault”. I got so caught up in teaching him a lesson that I wasn’t even listening to him.  He’s a very truthful kid so I should have known better.  

 

Comments
  1. Catherine says:

    As moms we all have incidents like this….we’re not perfect. Hug him and tell him about the email and apologize and all will be right with the world again. 🙂

    Like

  2. Melissa W says:

    We all make mistakes, even as parents. It’s part of being human. He’ll understand and forgive you. 🙂

    Like

  3. Kris says:

    Awww, I hate it when I punish my child and its not her fault. It happens sometimes, usually when its her sisters fault. lol Wanted to stop by and say thanks so much for the wonderful comments you left on my blog. I’m just catching up on posts again now. Also, I went to your blogger profile to click on your ‘my webpage’ link to get here, but you have an extra ‘L’ at the beginning of the link so it comes up an error. I figured it out but you might want to change it.

    Also, your latest jewelry is looking fabulous. I’ve always loved your style.

    Like

  4. pam says:

    We all do that at one time in our parenting life! I am sure all will be right with the world real soon!

    Like

  5. Janet says:

    Awww…I feel your pain! Moms make mistakes…believe me, I’ve made a TON of them with DD…. I always tell myself (and her, now that she’s 15) that a good therapist will be able to undo them all at some point! 🙂
    Don’t be hard on yourself! He’ll forgive you! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

