Challenging

Posted: August 5, 2008 in Scrapbooking
Tags: , , , ,

I think the hardest part of scrapbooking is getting started.  It’s the picking of paper and deciding where you want to go with it.  Once that part is behind me things tend to just flow.  That’s why I love challenges.  They give me a great starting point.  Just a bit of direction to grease the wheels of my creativity.  For this layout I actually combined two challenge.  The Low stress use your stash challenge at 2peas and  Julie’s Recipe challenge at playground of memories.

Cool camping

Cool camping

I also wanted to address something I’ve been reading alot on the message boards.  I am always hearing people refer to scrapping chronologically like it’s a bad thing.  I love scrapping in order.  Every single photo I take has some meaning to me so they all inspire me.  Doing them in some kind of order just decreases the chaos and gives me some direction.  Let’s face it, I scrap so much that I’m going to scrap each and every photo anyway, doing them in order just saves me the trouble of organizing them later.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not a slave to order, if I feel inspired to pull out some childhood photos even though I’m working on summer 07 I don’t hesitate.  I’m not saying this because I think the scrap whatever you heart desires people are wrong.  I’m just saying that there is no right or wrong.  different strokes for different folks for sure.  Just wanting to let my order craving peeps that, although it seems out of mode now, scrapping in order is a perfectly acceptable course of action.  I’m just sayin’……….

Comments
  1. Janet says:

    Awww…could we be cut from the same cloth, Lily? lol I’m all about chronological scrapbooking. I totally agree with your comment about it providing order/structure. Sometimes I think I *should* break free and “go to the dark side” lol, but I always come back to my date order! TFS!

    Love that LO, BTW. It really captures summer fun!

    Like

  2. Janet says:

    P.S. I left a little something for you on my blog. 🙂

    Like

  3. zanne says:

    I always scrap in order!

    Like

Leave a Reply

